Track List
  • The Honest Truth
  • Summer Home
  • Claws Pt. 1
  • Kitchen Tile
  • Firewood

A New Kind of House

Released in March, 2011

A five-song sequel and companion piece to Hunger & Thirst, A New Kind of House (named after a Zach Schomburg poem) picks up where its predecessor left off, this time in an even older, slightly shabbier rental house in southeast Portland. This is the early days part two.

There are some interesting germs here that one may recognize from later Typhoon songs. Summer Home, for example, is a first attempt at the kind of autobiographical reconciliation of White Lighter; and Claws pt. 1 foreshadows Offerings’ themes of psycho-social disintegration (“all degree shall be leveled,” etc). Meanwhile, Honest Truth was the song that got us on TV.


Songs by Kyle Morton Arranged & Performed by Typhoon

Kyle Morton - vocals, guitar, piano Toby Tanabe - bass, vocals Dave Hall - guitar, vocals Shannon Steele - violin, vocals Jen Hufnagel - violin, vocals Pieter Hilton - drums, vocals Alex Fitch - drums, vocals Tyler Ferrin - trumpet, vocals Eric Stipe - trumpet, vocals Ryan McAlpin - trumpet, vocals Nora Zimmerly - vocals, percussion Devin Gallagher - ukulele, percussion, glockenspiel, vocals Samantha Kushnick - cello Lilly Maher - cello

Additional choir singers: Ed Villareal & Darren Bridenbeck

Recorded and mixed by Paul Laxer at the house on SE Division Street, Portland, OR Mastered by Gus Elg