Track List
  • Prelude
  • Artificial Light
  • Young Fathers
  • Morton's Fork
  • Possible Deaths
  • The Lake
  • Dreams of Cannibalism
  • 100 Years
  • Prosthetic Love
  • Hunger and Thirst
  • Caesar
  • Common Sentiments
  • Post Script

White Lighter

Released in August, 2013

The one where we’re not messing around anymore. We finally got out of the house, we got out of Portland and we set up shop at Pendarvis Farm in Happy Valley where we spent six weeks writing, arranging and recording our second full-length record (not counting our first self-titled album, which... most don’t). Writing these songs induced an identity crisis in yours truly. For those of you sadistically insisting one must suffer for one’s art, here you go.

I wanted to recapture what I took to be the most significant and/or traumatic moments of my life--pressure points, I called them--and lay them all out, hoping against hope to make them intelligible in the cold, white light of mortality. I tried really hard to avoid the solipsism trap - trying, you know, to grasp the universal through the particular. I don’t know how well I succeeded in all that but it’s a pretty good indie-rock record.

The whole band was there on the farm and you can hear it. To boot, we had the privilege of some really incredible guest appearances. Yes, that is Yann Tiersen you hear shredding the violin at the end of The Lake.


Songs by Kyle Morton Arranged & Performed by Typhoon

Kyle Morton - vocals, guitar, keys, drums Toby Tanabe - bass, vocals Dave Hall - guitar, vocals Shannon Steele - violin, vocals Jen Hufnagel - violin, vocals Pieter Hilton - drums, percussion, vocals Alex Fitch - drums, percussion, vocals Tyler Ferrin - trumpet, french horn, trombone, vocals Eric Stipe - trumpet, vocals Ryan McAlpin - trumpet, vocals Devin Gallagher - ukulele, percussion, glockenspiel, vocals Nora Zimmerly - vocals

Yann Tiersen - violin, vocals Chris Funk - pedal steel guitar Holland Andrews - clarinet, vocals

Additional choir singers: Robin Allender Lionel Laquerrière Ólavur Jákupsson Stéphane Bouvier Paul Laxer

Recorded by Paul Laxer at Pendarvis Farm, Happy Valley, OR Produced by Kyle Morton, Paul Laxer and Typhoon Mixed by Jeff Stuart Saltzman Mastered by Dave McNair